"Become a new creature" as an ancient doctrine

I was born into the church and have considered myself an active, believing Latter-day Saint throughout my life.  Until recently I viewed the doctrine of “spiritual rebirth” as a modern Christian spin on the words of Paul and Christ from the New Testament.

One of the many results of my deep dive into the scriptures over the past few years is that I’ve come to see this doctrine differently. It\’s ancient, not modern.  It ties into the creation narrative.  God created the earth and man, and during the probationary period man is tasked with re-creating himself in the image and likeness of God (with the help of the angels, of course).  

Spiritual Creation, then Physical Creation, then Spiritual Re-Creation (Heaven-Earth-Heaven)

Several scriptures explicitly teach that all things were created spiritually first:

5 And every plant of the field before it was in the earth, and every herb of the field before it grew. For I, the Lord God, created all things, of which I have spoken, spiritually, before they were naturally upon the face of the earth. For I, the Lord God, had not caused it to rain upon the face of the earth. And I, the Lord God, had created all the children of men; and not yet a man to till the ground; for in heaven created I them; and there was not yet flesh upon the earth, neither in the water, neither in the air;

Moses 3

31 For by the power of my Spirit created I them; yea, all things both spiritual and temporal—
32 First spiritual, secondly temporal, which is the beginning of my work; and again, first temporal, and secondly spiritual, which is the last of my work

Doctrine & Covenants 29

I love verse 32 of D&C 29, because it highlights the two-part process of the creation.  First, Jehovah created us physically according to the pattern established in the earlier spiritual creation.  Second, Jesus Christ established the way for us to find new life in Him, through His teachings, His example, and His atoning sacrifice.

Walking the Covenant Path is Spiritual Re-Creation

When Adam and Eve were driven from the Garden of Eden, they were naked, afraid, and separated from God’s presence. Mortality became the time allotted to them to learn 

Paul (the name Saul was given after his miraculous conversion) gives us a lot to consider when he writes:

17 So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation: everything old has passed away; see, everything has become new!
18 All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ, and has given us the ministry of reconciliation;

2 Corinthians 5, NSRV

The ‘ministry of reconciliation’ is another way of expressing the idea that our primarily purpose on earth is to pattern our lives after the heavenly order that was established before the world was.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment